top of page
fullsizeoutput_545.jpeg

A few words from myself...

Beginning the journey of adulthood is frightening yet exciting. Curiosity has taken over me on how I can live a fulfilling life without regrets. Life brings us difficult situations to see how we react and recover from them, teaching lessons to better us for our future. The majority of interests I have fallen into the category of outdoors; kayaking and hiking are the main ones. Music is also a huge part of my life, I listen to music everyday and a lot of different genres. Helping others comes as a second nature, for me I express that through being a certified nursing assistant and hope to pursue my dreams of becoming traveling nurse. In life everyone has priorities, I value my family, friends, education, and myself. Having your priorities straight will set you up for a successful life, as we all wish to live.

IMG_9983
IMG_9859
fullsizeoutput_5e7
fullsizeoutput_4d0
fullsizeoutput_520
2018-06-13 20_09_18.020
FullSizeRender
IMG_8964
fullsizeoutput_4bc
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
Search
  • Writer's pictureAshley Rose

And I still make coffee for two...

Give you guys a little explanation.. I wrote this in one of my writing classes and is a piece I am very proud of. Thought more people should enjoy also! Thank you :)


choose your own path, get out of your comfort zone!

It was a cool Tuesday when I saw her. She was the most beautiful person I had ever seen, nothing could compare to her beauty. I watched her softly laugh with her friends while they walked into Ashley’s Cafe. I told my friend, Jim, that we had to go in there so I could meet her. I prayed that she was not already in a relationship. I sprinted to the door and as I walked in we caught each other’s eyes; hers sparkled. She gave me a soft smile and my heart was jumping out of my chest. I fought the urge to run right up to her, and tell her my whole life story because I knew she was my forever. Patiently and swiftly making my way over to her I nervously said, “Hi I am Zak, how are you?”

She blushes and said, “Hi, I am Peyton and I am pretty good, but I would be even better if I got to know you.”

Right then, I was lost for words, but knew my everything was standing right in front of me. After that short meeting, we sat for hours getting to know each other and discussing life’s problems with our delicious coffee in hand. Then, out of the blue she asks, “Do you have plans this Friday?”

Shocked, I stated, “I am free. Why do you have something in mind?”

She asked, “I was curious if you would like to go to a pumpkin patch?”

Delighted, I said, “I would love to go along with you.”

So, that next Friday we ended up going to the pumpkin patch. We picked out the two biggest, brightest orange pumpkins and hauled them back to her house to carve. Even though we only knew each other for a short amount of time while I was carving the pumpkins, I carefully carved “will you be my girlfriend?” Once we were both done, I nervously showed her and tears filled in her eyes, which I hoped they were tears of joy. She ended up saying yes as her eyes sparkled even more than usual. Even though we both were freshman in college and at different colleges, we made our love story work.

Three amazing years passed and we both managed to graduate college. After her beautiful graduation ceremony, I met her after. I slowly got down on one knee and said, while shaking “Will you marry me and be my forever?” She instantly was lost for words.

She, excited, said, “Of course I will be your forever!”

We both hugged, and four months later got a place together and adopted an energetic dog, Nora. Every morning when I would promptly wake up early just to make her a fresh pot of coffee just the way she liked it. Once she finally woke up we would start the morning sipping on coffee and talking about life. That next cool April we got married in Fiji with our loving families by our sides. Sadly, we made our way home from Fiji, but we went back to Ashley’s Café where we met to reminisce on the first time meeting each other. We both ordered the exact same drinks that we ordered that day, for her black coffee with a hint of French vanilla creamer and for me straight black coffee.

Another four years went by and we found ourselves with two beautiful children. Our son, Grayson and our daughter named, Jaycee. Thankfully both were born healthy and happy. Life was going great, until Peyton received bad news from the doctor. She routinely went in for her yearly physical and her mammogram came back with some masses on both breasts. Peyton and I went to the doctors to discuss her options. Our families were devastated when we broke the news to them. Peyton’s breast cancer was very advanced. Horrified with the fact that her best option was to play the waiting game. Which unfortunately that waiting game did not last long. Four months, was all I had left with the love of my life. We spent those last few months with plenty of love and laughter. Even though it has been a hard year without her now, I still make coffee for two.

Comments


Home: Blog2

Subscribe

Home: GetSubscribers_Widget

Contact

Your details were sent successfully!

Home: Contact
Home: Inner_about
bottom of page